Sanjay Singh and 7 other Rajya Sabha MPs suspended for unruly behaviour

In one of its kind decisions, India’s Vice President and the Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Venkaiah Naidu has suspended eight Rajya Sabha members for their unparliamentary conduct. The Rajya Sabha issued a notice on Monday, September 21, where it announced the suspension of Derek O’Brien, Sanjay Singh, Rajiv Satav, KK Rajesh, Syed Nazij Hussain, Dola Sen, Nipun Bora, and Elamaran Karim for seven days which technically means from the current monsoon session of the Parliament.

Chairman Venkaiah Naidu showed his concerns over the unruly behavior of the opposition members on Sunday, September 20, in Rajya Sabha. These leaders, while opposing the Farm Bill, rose to the Dy Chairman’s seat and tore the copy of the bill. These members then started protesting against the Dy Chairman and when the marshals came to take them away, these members tried to attack the marshals as well.

O’Brien and Dola Sen are TMC MPs, while Hussain, Bora, and Satav are from Congress. Sanjay Singh is an AAP MP, while Rajesh and Kareem are from CPI(M).

In his statement, Vice President and the Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Venkaiah Naidu condemned the action of these MPs and said that it was a bad day for Rajya Sabha. “They abused Deputy Chairperson. The rules book was thrown on Deputy Chairman, but no MP can obstruct Chairman. You obstructed the House and tarnished the image of the Parliament. Is it a Parliamentary standard? Please do an Introspection Derek O’Brien, Please go Out.”

Meanwhile, the Rajya Sabha has also passed the Farm Bill. This means the Farm Bill 2020 has now become an act that will bring much respite to the lives of small and medium-sized farmers.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button