RJD’s 5 MLCs quit the party, join Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) in Bihar

And finally, 5 Members of Legislative Council (MLCs) from Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has joined Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) in Bihar.

What can be called as the writing on the wall, this shift seemed inevitable considering party members’ disappointment on the way Tejaswi Yadav was managing RJD. As Bihar is headed for an election in November 2020, this considered a big blow to RJD and its supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav.

The five MLCs — Sanjay Prasad, Dilip Rai, Md Kamar Alam, Radha Charan Shah, and Ranvijay Kumar Singh, shifted to Nitish Kumar’s JDU ahead of the Legislative Council elections in Bihar, which is scheduled to be held on July 7. The Vidhan Parishad Acting Chairman Awadhesh Narain Singh said the five MLCs have been recognized as a separate group, the merger of which into the JD(U) has been approved.

On top of it, RJD’s vice-president and one of its founding members, Raghuvansh Prasad Singh also resigned from his post today. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh is currently admitted to the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), Patna, and is being treated for COVID-19 infection.

If the sources are to be believed, Raghuvansh Babu, who was also a former Union minister, showed his unhappiness in a letter that he wrote to the party leadership saying he does not appreciate the way party has been working of late. He also wrote that he does not approve of the type of people being inducted into the party.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button